Delphi is dying (TM) …NOT!

Eyethorn

The devil seeks the accord in your mind. It is enough for him to start the war.

St. Mark the Ascetic


There is a constant thinking culture which questions the future of Delphi, “Delphi is dying”, if it is (still) a reliable tool etc. And now I don’t want to focus on the incurable nay-sayers which are among us, programmers, because these kind of characters are always a more or less useful presence for the community…

…Now I want to make a small analysis and give some proofs from my personal experience in order broke the perception of (at least) some managers about certain facts in the human thinking process and relate them to the Delphi case.

One of the powers of our soul is the logical power, as we all know. But unfortunately this power is very weak so in order to survive we need to base our decisions mostly on another one: faith. The human being way too often accepts and hence is dependent on facts which he cannot control, verify how much true they are and sometimes he even doesn’t understand how a thing which he accepted as true can be possible in reality. For example, Intel announced a wafer of 22nm. Do you believe it? Why? Do you really understand how this is possible? Did you measured the wafer? How?

Too often we accept an information as trustworthy just because we think that the source who gave that information is trustworthy. Is in fact the basis of all the mass-media phenomenon which we see today. Is true because “The Television” said so.

“Delphi is dying” because “they” said so. Perhaps you’ll ask: Where “they” said? And I’ll answer: In their culture, in their way of thinking.

…yesterday, my boss called me to his office – thing which is really an event for me (and in fact for everyone from our company) because our boss is _really_ a famous personality (on all planes). And I really mean it.

In his office, there was in a corner a very well dressed, nice, young but somewhat fearsome guy. My boss, with a very paternal tone said to me something like this (shortened): “Mr. X. is CEO of a big IT company, if you want, you can have a chat together”. “What do you do?” I asked. Then the guy somewhat happier perhaps because he started to speak about his job with someone who looked inferior to him (I’m a ugly person – not impressive at all) tried to impress the audience with their projects, company magnitude etc. What is important to our theme here is that they are in close relationships with Microsoft and develop in C#. “Ok, I said can we continue the discussion in my office?” My (let’s call it) office isn’t (obviously) not at all suited for officials so, our guest started to feel much more comfortable. He had the perception that had the situation in his hands.

While he was speaking with a certain superiority about his beliefs, he even approached my monitors and looked closely to the throw-away form and code which I had there (I was doing some experiments there). Suddenly he stopped and shouted: “Delphi???” Yes, I responded – Do you know it?. He responded: I learned it at university and I swore to never program in it again. I was preparing to ask him “why?” …but his face started to show something new. No, it wasn’t disgust (or something similar), it was a kind of fear.

I kept my smile and I started to watch him closely. He started to be very closed in himself, tried to continue to be very superior (“C# is the perfect language” etc.) but for an attentive observer it was clear that something bothers him. Even if he looked like one who knows very well his role to play, his poetry to say, he still was intimidated. And I forget to tell you that I avoided to enter in a Delphi vs. C# fight asking him only general questions like “What do you think about AOP? Functional programming?” etc. But he tried to tell me that there’s much much code for C# etc., even if I didn’t asked this or mention anything in this regard.

But I think that the biggest pain point was that I looked (and I am) pretty confident in my tool, faith which comes from my experience with it, even if I know that this tool isn’t the solution for everything.

We all have beliefs. But if you can, check practically what the others say. Do it. Especially if they have other interests than to help you to say what they say.

And if Delphi will die then we’ll switch. At the time of writing, at least for me is a much better tool in my areas of interest. And if somebody else believes in another way, no problem. We’ll check if his opinion will fit for us. But hands on. I’m fed up with words. And with thoughts… to power…. thoughts.. to power.. thoughts..to power thoughts to power thoughts thoughts thoughts…

59 thoughts on “Delphi is dying (TM) …NOT!

  1. Interesting post. 🙂

    I do not know if Delphi will die or not (although my personal opinion is it will not) but I agree all these religion wars about “my-language-is-better-than-yours” and “your-language-will-die-move-on” are worthless nonsense.

    Does your preferred language fit your needs? If yes, what is the problem? It does not have that language feature you’d love to have? Ask yourself if you really need it or you only want it.

    Do you find the language X to be ugly? Do not use it, or if you have to because of your work, try to get the better out of it.

    • 100% agree. Also about…
      “I do not know if Delphi will die or not (although my personal opinion is it will not)”
      It will not – and I don’t say this because I use it, love it (etc.) – I say it just because it fills an existing, concrete need. Besides that knowing a little the Team, there are no signs of ‘cancer’ inside like it was in the period of Delphi 8 – Delphi 2005 / 6.

    • I come from clipper and in 1997 there seems to be the same info surrounding the clipper language until this moment Clipper is still alive at this moment it’s being use via xHarbour and Harbour, Clip, Xailer …etc…

      But new users for the xBase language is over and Clipper is no longer sold by Computer Associates, the new students go for .Net products.

      And this same thing is also to be said of Delphi there are no NEW USERS if you see the blogs and the websites and comments from the users are the same users always.

      Some of the Big users of Delphi went to C# and the users keep moving.

      Maybe Delphi will not die because there is Lazarus and FreePascal but there will simply be no NEW USERS using Delphi from Embarcadero.

      And the first obstacle is the cost $$$ of the Delphi license we can not ignore the fact that Apple has its building tools free of cost to produce gadgets for the Apple world and the price is 0.0.

      The other thing moving users to other programming tools is the fact that for example if I want to build a 64bit exe I can do it with Lazarus at this moment but I can not do it with Delphi 2010.

      I’m not saying that Delphi should be free but at least be accessible to more users VS costs much less then the Delphi counter part and Embarcadero should listen to the users that are still with Embarcadero.

      The problem with Embarcadero is that with the acquisition of Borland Delphi he also got the people from Borland that put the price on the product and that was bad from the Borland days.

      To me Delphi 2010 is the best Delphi to come out since Delphi 7 but I will not upgrade until Delphi 64bit because everything I do at this moment I can do it with Delphi 2005.

      Just my 2 pesos
      Ramiro

        • Very good article, but it says exactly what is happening thanks for the link.

          Delphi is an incredible language but the cost in building something in it is just to high to many people.

          I heard here in Latin America that in the time of Borland they lost 150,000 dollars in sales I think it was with Colombia said no to the licenses because C# was no longer in the RAD product.

          And only God knows how many license’s where lost this way, I can say for my self that I bought RAD 2005 because of C# and did not buy RAD 2006 because there was no C#.

          My 2 pesos
          Ramiro

      • Hi…

        quick backround: I had every Delphi version since D2 (got D1 packaged w/that D2 purchase). I cut my teeth on Delphi, was not ’till d3 I became competent. By D5, somewhere beyond that. Had a small shop in Oakland Ca. w/my dad… did ok through late ’90s doing custom biz apps. We developed over several years (big commitment in hrs./$$) a comprehensive HIPAA package for new regs introduced just after GWB’s 1st inauguration. We had good success w/that thing… but 120 hr weeks by ’05 took their toll on both our well being. Dad (then 84) hung it up for good, I took a year off and healed up.

        I gained some reputation in HIPAA expertise, had some good experiences from ’05-7 consulting… mostly w/medical centers. Through that, healed up pretty good, got hands on concepts of wanted/needed but unfilled holes in HIPAA infrastructure, and made commitments to filling ’em.

        I did this w/D’2005, and simultaneously committed to C#… wrote all code through mid-’08 in C#. Built 3rd party libraries in C#, much of it outside Delphi/Borland community. Had some good success.

        Then… Borland dropped C# support.

        I had discussions on Borland forums & email w/fellow Delphi developers who I’d forged relationships w/over the years… told ’em exactly that this was my strategy (develop in C#: if Delphi/OP went south, I had a codebase in C# which I could migrate straight into MS Studio).

        So, when Borland dropped C# support I did just that… been using MS development tools for 2+ years now. Haven’t been on Borland’s site, nor on Delphi forums since.

        I developed tools… mostly middle-ware & security, for university system in my state (NM). Long story, but in short there were compatability problems using Delphi ’05 DLL’s w/MS stuff when compiled in OP… just couldn’t use ’em.

        When economy went south (in Albuquerque, beginning around Oct ’08), virtually all IT work I was qualified to address dried up and workforces shrunk. I shifted careers, opened a shop completely restoring old SAABS (something I always wanted to do). It’s been fun, built a bunch of great cars, made a few $$.

        So I said all that to say this: I’m getting ready to code again… some nice projects are coming my way. With both feet in MS VS camp when I “suspended” development nearly a yr. ago, that’s where I’m leaning to resume.

        But… I’m looking around at tools, trying to read up (anonymously) where Delphi has gone, and at least give honest consideration to “coming back to the farm.”

        The lack of C# support… something your comment discussed, was not discussed in a context that matters to me. It was not about a language being “better then”, it was about compatibility w/in environments I was working (eg: other teams immovably committed to C#). It was also about a larger pool of quality 3rd party tools available in C#, and most importantly I think a decision I made (for better or worse… worked out for me) as preparing for future by committing to C#. In that commitment, I think I didn’t leave Borland… rather Borland left me (eg: by dropping C# support and, IMO, screwing around w/”.NET for w32 or whatever they called it).

        So again, not trying to start a flame war or anything… just giving one guy’s experience which, as it turned out, the choice of development tools swung on C# support. What I’m going to be doing next is not corporate… does not depend on working w/other C# or MS VS teams. My VS ver. now 2 yrs old, so next development tool an open question.

        I do not yet have a handle on state of Delphi (haven’t looked in 3+ years, just beginning in last month). It’s an open question as of yet.

        Just my $0.0165 (and falling fast!!!).

        • In short: Welcome back! 🙂

          Another hint: Feel free to ask, if you want to learn more. 🙂

          The situation in few words: Almost all the old management left, now Delphi is on a very good path (imho) D2010 – like many of us say – is the best Delphi ever. The team now works in spades at both cross-platform and 64bit solutions. If you want to do complex Windows development D2010 is a no-brainer. But we’ll have a decisive in 2010 WRT to new technologies. If we’ll succeed we’ll have the first high-performance cross-platform RAD tool. Quite interesting, eh?

  2. Many decision makers forget that the tools must support the business model, and not the other way around. Right now, it seems that Windows Mobile is in serious problems, Apple bans non-native code on iPhone, Google is about to reinvent native code in a cross-platform way, and Embarcadero is in an situation full of opportunities.

  3. Delphi is far from “dead” or really even dieing. Borland mis-managed Delphi and missed a huge opportunity with a vastly superior architecture, but near 15 years later and I can still compile applications I wrote in it from back then and they run very well. No other tool I know of has been as progressive, stable and long lived. As it stands today, I liken Delphi to what the Mac is to the PC.

  4. For Delphi to die, there must be something to replace it. I haven’t found any alternatives and I’ve tried, oh how I’ve tried.

  5. I’m encouraged to see Delphi development in the hands of a motivated team the appreciates it’s value. I think the most essential thing they can do to promote the “religious” following, is to stake a claim to what make Delphi great … a core vision and purpose. If Delphi is positioned as the best Native Code development tool for Windows then you have your claim. If the Delphi team doesn’t stake such a position and make it the focus of development and marketing, etc. then the only claim you can make is that Delphi does a lot of stuff pretty well.

    • “best Native Code development tool for Windows” – yes, of course. But we need to make noise about this. Not necessary in a “religious” way (don’t forget that also the others have their religion, isn’t it?) but for sure we must ‘preach’. Also the company should improve their communication channels.

    • How about a follow-up post titled something like “Delphi most certainly is not dying but very much alive and kicking” ?

      Yes, it seems that’s needed.

      but let’s hope you’re not creating a self-fulfilling prophecy here…

      Lets hope. There are no signs, yet. 🙂

      Thanks for the link. But the problem was fixed meanwhile. 😉

    • And unfortunately, others just can’t read questions correctly. The question at StackOverflow never claims Delphi is dying, but wonders about what we should do if this ever occurs. It mentions a “what-if” scenario, asking for any good alternatives for Delphi. And to be honest, I don’t think there is a good alternative to fill the gap that Delphi would leave if it did die.

      Will Delphi die? I rather think Delphi will just fade away slowly, just like many other applications from the past. It’s not the best tool for .NET development but it’s still great for WIN32 development. Once Delphi starts supporting the WIN64 environment natively, it will be able to survive even longer. But it’s survival depends on future developments and the willingness of Embarcadero to keep updating this great tool, even though it’s popularity is becoming less.

      • “But it’s survival depends on future developments and the willingness of Embarcadero to keep updating this great tool…”
        This is one of the most important points of the problem. But this needs another post. Stay tuned.

  6. I am going to take you to task. Although your article is sarcastic. You have failed to promote Delphi in a positive manner and have done a dis-service.

    You know search engines concentrate on the title and that is what will be optimized and shown in every RSS feed and blog. The second thing you know is that Managers read “only the title” and believe it. Now I am preparing to receive a bunch of emails forwarding your article with what they think is proof about delphi.

    To make this better please write more articles to show why “Delphi is Alive” and why “Delphi cannot be killed”. You need at least five good articles for each bad one, because good articles are ignored and the bad ones are the one that people circulate.

    • Managers read “only the title” and believe it Yes, you catch a common human behavior here but do skip such managers. Or give them a chance: “Did you actually read the article?” Don’t be afraid to tell them so. And if they won’t listen, skip. You will not have too much to lose.

      Now I am preparing to receive a bunch of emails forwarding your article with what they think is proof about delphi.
      From where?
      Did you saw what happened with the stackowerflow.com question which took this point of view? (link in the Louis’s and PhiS’s comments).

      To make this better please write more articles to show why “Delphi is Alive”
      Ok, I will.

      You need at least five good articles for each bad one…

      Wow! What a ratio! 🙂 How did you found it? Also perhaps we must have a discussion about what’s ‘good’ and what’s ‘bad’… 😉

  7. For me, Delphi had been died two years ago.

    While i was start my jod five years ago as a computer teacher in a vocational high school, my first lecture was about Database access with Delphi.

    My Delphi lectures had keept up for two terms. Then Ministry of Education has made a huge change in our cirruculums. Delphi had gone and Visual Basic and C# has came instead of it.

    I keept up writing hoby programs with Delphi for some time (for sake of the good old days).

    Last two years i had only downloaded trial versions of Delphi and made five or four lunches.

    We are using express editions of visual studio in our school.
    Yesterday i have applied to Microsoft’s Dreamspark (www.dreamspark.com) for my institution. We will get free licences for our students.

    At least Embarcadero should release an express or turbo edition of Prism for not to get forgotten in minds such mine. (I don’t like to use old versions or technologies and can not pay a pro application for education or hoby related aims. There is life in other planets without no charge.)

    Good by my first love, unfortunatelly i will break up with you.

  8. I agree with some people, your poor article title choice is very bad.
    A lot of indexer uses titles to mensure community posts, lot of people configures RSS readers to show only the title.
    Please, do not do that again, not like that if you mean what you wrote in the article body.

    • You know, actually the (TM) from title means Trade Mark. So, everyone who reads this and knows the English slang knows that this was meant to be sarcastic. But you’re right, in the future I’ll try to remember that we have a large audience which is not English-native speakers. Thank you (and others) for pointing out.

  9. Very similar situation … when an ISV launches the first product … the answer to the question: “And who guarantees that the product is alive tommorow”. “Simply buy it” is the answer … and so in this case … simply use it…

    … 64bit for Linux is welcome… server side … on the C/C++ path … Freepascal is already there no need to hurry … because pressing F9 and getting the advatages of 64bit technology for free, not sure;-). This is a dream… imho.

    And WoW I totally agree … it’s a problem of the mind and matter fear. The moment code exists the devil is waiting behind the door … and it makes no difference what language we type … we are done. There is lots of rumor about C# … “jo mei” like the Bavarians say. Everyone of us should have a Plan B and so there is no need to worry.

    Mike

  10. I agree you should change the title of this post. Perception becomes reality. Changing the title won’t diminish your post in any way but leaving it as it stands will contribute to diminishing Delphi.

      • It’s better.

        Personally I think the time for these navel gazing posts has passed. We’re through the dark times, it’s time to get on with writing quality software and using our blogs to show to the rest of the development world how productive Delphi is and how vibrant the community is.

  11. Delphi won’t die. Delphi will be killed by the same people who mismanaged it in the past years, and are still there to mismanage it to the maximum extent they can. What Delphi really lacks is clear leadership – all we’ve been seeing in the past seven years is a bunch of wrong decisions, decisions that was clearly wrong to anybody but those who took them. And now there are also some RemObjects snakes inside.
    I understand people who left Delphi, and I understand people who would not use it – the risks are higher than with other tools. Yes, there are still great features, but would you bet your future upon them? Delphi stood many failures, sometimes because it is a great tools, sometimes just because of the blind faith of its supporters. How many failures can it stand still?
    Will the xplat project be a success, or would it be another big hole in the water? Will it delay 64 bit so much it will be delivered too late? Can current libraries cover enough needs given the actual prices to be still competitive? Would the hunt of new phantom customers – be them .NET, Linux or Apple ones – still hurt actual ones hindering them to deliver state-of-the-art applications?
    Oh yes, Delphi regained some quality, and improved some features… but is it enough? Or the “development surface” is shrinking?

  12. Delphi unafortunately is in his way to death. Embarcadero just bought it to complete his products and try to gain some market. If you have followed last Delphi releases, it seems that Embarcadero is most worried about releasing a new Delphi version every year (and trying to make you understand why you should upgrade) than developing Delphi capabilities. This is, Embarcadero is just looking for get money for his invest and I’m sure they are not worried about developers at all.

    If you see MS tools, it’s another thing. Every release is not intended just to upgrade but to implement new functions, morel help, and it seems that any new release stays up to date with state-of-the-art technologies. In fact, they keep on giving support even to versions as old as Visual Basic 6.0.

    In some moment, someone said that Delphi could be bought by MS, just imagine the Boom! that Delphi could produce if that could happened.

    Meanwhile, I think that we, the “Delphi-to-the-bone” developers, have Delphi’s future in our hands and of course in our code. Maybe Delphi gets the same luck than COBOL, Fortran an other “arcaic” languajes that today still stay alive.

    I’m very exceptic about a Delphi 2011, version…we’ll see…

  13. I’m not so sure there will be any survivors in the commercial devtool market.
    IntelliJ just went open source, even though their IDE was regarded to be one of the best and fairly cheap too.

    Every platform vendor, be it Microsoft, Apple or Nokia, tries to make his platform the most attractive to develop for by giving developer tools away for free.

    Maybe Delphi is just different enough to survive this. But I doubt it.

    • IntelliJ was directly competing with Eclipse. And Eclipse is / was backed up by huge companies (IBM etc.) in order to became so monstr… ugh! “mature” while it remained ‘free’. Remember, also Borland’s tools got ‘Eclipsed’. If Delphi succeeds to remain different enough to worth money it will stay as a paid entity. If not, it will go open-source or will die.

      • ” If Delphi succeeds to remain different enough to worth money”. The problem is right this. The problem is to justify spending the actual price for such a product – when competitors are free or cheaper, and often with a broader offering. How long the price/feature ratio will justify such expense? This of course does not apply to those working on their own, but there are people who have to justify expenses with managers – many of whom are starting to ask if this kind of investment still makes sense, and it’s harder and harder to find reasons to justify it – of course there were and there are some “promises”, but has Hodges clearly stated, they didn’t promise anything, and anyway their “sailors” now, who would trust a promise of their?
        If someone has to justify to buy Delphi today, what would he write? That there’s a key to search the IDE? That there’s a new fancy Datasnap, but please don’t ask to authorize clients and protect data properly? That there’s touch support even if we don’t develop touch enabled applications because none of out customers has touch devices? That the standard TCP/IP library is still a volunteers effort and you have to install a daily snapshot to get some fixes? While trying to avoid the fatal question: “what about 64 bit applications?”…
        Someone laughed at the LSE demise of their SQL Server/.NET application – but, sincerely, could have Delphi delivered a comparable solution without a giant effort to fill the gaps?
        I guess Delphi is still a profitable business, ot they wouldn’t release it each year – but is this profitability hurting the product, which could be benefit more by a two-year release cycle?
        How long it will be profitable still? Is the effort to force old customers to upgrade a warning? BorCodeDero didn’t spend a dime in support – in case it was third party libraries to have to support older release – why this obsession about “upgrading” them?

  14. The guy said to you “…I swore to never program in it…”.

    The guy doesn’t understand “the Delphi way” and he probably never will.

    Programmers are labor, a commodity, not much more. Don’t get me wrong, a programmer can still be an artist at heart. But, in the business world programmers have been reduced to just labor.

    It’s important and proper to reduce programming to a commodity. It’s all part of the industry maturing. Larger ideas need to be expressed quickly and that means not sitting down and coding everything from scratch, but instead pulling together components.

    Programmers will always be needed, but to advance the industry we must move past programming and into component based development.

    What does this mean to Delphi? It means Delphi was a leader in visual/component based development. For Delphi to survive it cannot be focused on programming. It cannot be a “glorified code editor”. It must take a large step in innovation by becomming a “framework supporting IDE” that let’s you code when needed. But it’s main purpose needs to be letting you visually express ideas that are coded by the IDE.

    Nice talkin’ with ya’ Pops.

    • Keep on… I’ve been hearing it since 1990, at least. Borland already tried it. Do you remember ObjectVision? It was a failure. I worked for a company that one day decided programmers should just glue together components, thus it doesn’t need to pay them much. It went bankrupt, after hiring lot of young people with poor programming skills.
      Accept it – there isn’t actually a way to code “visually” – and be able to code whatever you need with all the power you need. Maybe one day, not now and not tomorrow. A book is still much more expressive than any movie or picture ever produced. There’s much more you can do writing, and faster, than you can do manipulating something visually – have you ever tried full UML modelling?
      Putting together colorful bricks is still good for children to learn how things are done. Adults got past it. Maybe one day we will be able to control components with our minds, and put them together just thinking how they should work together – and then you can teleport to the office to show your boss how good is your work.

      • “It was a failure.”

        So, a failed attempt at implementation means it’s a no go? I think we’d be missing many things in life if that were the case.

        “I worked for a company that one day decided programmers should just glue together components, thus it doesn’t need to pay them much.”

        It failed because they thought visual development = using low skilled labor. But, the exact opposite is true. The more advanced the methodology the more skilled someone needs to be to use it.

        “There’s much more you can do writing, and faster, than you can do manipulating something visually…”

        Visual development coding. You’ll need to code some. However, I disagree with you. A person can do more visually than by coding, why do you think being blind is considered a handicap?

        ” Maybe one day we will be able to control components with our minds…”

        Controlling the components with our minds is not the point. Using a mouse, keyboard, mind, or whatever to reuse components is the way of today (Delphi) and the future.

        “…teleport to the office to show your boss how good is your work…”

        I already teleport to the office. It’s called internet conferencing. You’re way behind the times.

    • The guy doesn’t understand “the Delphi way” and he probably never will.

      Many are too concentrated on their business in order to care about art. They fear about tomorrow.

      It’s important and proper to reduce programming to a commodity.
      Yes, but it will never happen. There’s no silver bullet.

      About your other ideas:

      Yes, that’s the direction. To make the things more and more natural to the human brain. But like Luigi pointed out, the code will not disappear. Because the language and hence the code is one of the most natural expression of the human being. And not only that, is one of the most flexible ones. That’s why in the beginning there was code. OTOH, yes, today the usage of code is overrated IMHO and good visual approaches for certain parts of development cycle are needed imho.

      • “It’s important and proper to reduce programming to a commodity.
        Yes, but it will never happen.”

        It has already happened, you missed it. The IT industry has matured. Programmer wages are low now, very few people are entering college for programming. Visual expression of ideas has been around for a while in UML. No more need to re-write a sorting algorithm for the 1 trillionth time.

        “But like Luigi pointed out, the code will not disappear.”

        Of course the code will not fully disappear. But, just like getting out a piece of paper to record accounting information has been replaced with a computer. The code will be used less often, but (!!!) when used will glue other code pieces (components) instead of starting everything from scratch. Just look at a form designer, it eliminates coding of UI element placement. The same will happen with all other parts of a system, data components, communication components, etc. It’s already here I use it everyday in Delphi. Don’t try to keep people in the stone ages, everything progresses. Writing code all day will also move on and leave full-time coders behind.

        “Because the language and hence the code is one of the most natural expression of the human being.”

        Then why is it harder to learn to read/write a new (spoken) language than it is to use hand motions and facial expressions to communicate with other humans?!

  15. a.) Thank you for changing the Title to correctly reflect the article. TM does not carry over to RSS correctly.
    b.) People like myself work in an environment where different people use different tools/languages. The current trend appears to be .NET and RoR. I strongly believe we should use the right tool for the job. Currently Delphi has the broadest code reach. .NET managed libraries although nice still do not penetrate many areas of software development on which I am working. I receive emails from people who think I should develop in .NET so they too can have a slice of the cool stuff we do in Delphi.
    c.) Yes, it is ultimately the programmer that is more important than the language. It is the programmers choice to choose the environment that will most quickly reach the goal and allow to maintain the leadership.
    d.) It is not the features that need to be added to Delphi. It is what is already there in terms of the libraries and ease of use that make it so great. Do you really need more features and flexibility that you will not use ?

  16. Pingback: The Genuine Value « Wings of Wind Software

  17. Pingback: Time to bury this “Is Delphi Dying” nonsense

  18. Pingback: A Morte chega a todos um dia | Programação Orientada a Spaghetti

Leave a Reply

