Newsflash: The official Delphi 2010 Survey

RADStudio 2010A message from our projman in the .non-techical battlefield:

All,

First, I want to thank you for all of your support in the past, present, and
future. Below is the link to the 2010 Delphi survey, this is conducted by
Embarcadero and the Product Management for the Delphi product. The
responses are extremely important to us and help to shape the vision and
future of the product.

I know the survey is long, very LONG! But again, the information we get
from the answers you give are needed more than ever.

Please pass this survey on to anybody you think would be interested in
filling it out.

Again, thanks!

Mike

Mike Rozlog
Product Manager – Delphi

http://www.surveymonkey.com/s.aspx?sm=XrKr27_2bmLfybzGzZi_2brsBQ_3d_3d

Be sure to fill it! It is long but it worths the effort. It is one of the BEST surveys which I saw – ok, perhaps you’ll find ‘holes’ but its main feature is that they show that they know what’s happening. Well, but let’s see the implementation. Anyway, we must do our job.

23 thoughts on “Newsflash: The official Delphi 2010 Survey

  1. For the Audits and Metrics questions I missed the “The address space is too small for this feature” choice. Using A&M for 10 lines application works but throwing a 4 million lines application at it is too much for it.

  2. “Since Embarcadero does not capture usage data from our users [snip]”
    But why don’t they offer developers the option to submit usage data voluntarily?

    • I think that you can submit usage data as you wish. Feel free to write your complaints here. Also, the .non-techincal forum is a common place for this. But a survey, even if it has its drawbacks, is a very good tool for data mining. In a free-form submission, the developer’s personality influences very deep the content of the message.

      • Well, I was thinking about data automatically collected by Delphi. Kind of like a profiler. And the user should be asked during install if she wants that data to be collected and submitted. At least I wouldn’t mind that.

        • Yep, this makes sense. We have such a discussion in .non-technical (in one of the sub-threads of the topic called ‘Let your voice be heard! Delphi 2010 Survey’. …but because Uwe asked me to make a poll on this, most probably I’ll do a post to discuss and, finally, a poll for you to vote. Till then, can you give more specifics on this theme? How do you (or others) envisage this?

          • As a starting point I think every action accessible through IDE Insight could record into a plain text log file a starting timestamp and it’s duration to execute. Maybe also how the action was called: menu entry, keyboard shortcut, IDE Insight, button on some dialog. Also, the time a form is open might be interesting for usage data.
            Periodically the IDE could then ask me if I want to submit my usage data while allowing me to view the transmitted file first.

            This data could then be mined it many interesting ways: “workflows” like always executing the same 3 actions in the same order, “Most/Least used actions”, Common changes to project options or IDE configuration.

            As long as this wouldn’t transmit any personal data (e.g. project names, paths, etc) I’d be happy to send in my log file.

            Also, one should think about how to prevent people from manipulating the log data but I have no ideas for that right now. ^^

            • Something like this?

              Even if is good to streamline the IDE’s workflow (and certainly it can be improved) I’d rather collect to the usage data on our projects. Yes, of course NO personal data should be sent outside but a status like:
              Delphi Class – Used
              TButton – 200
              TLabel – 150

              Delphi API:
              DrawText – 180
              FormatFloat – 50
              etc.

              I do think that this would help them in the cross-platform transition, but not only. What do you think?

              • I didn’t think about that, but yes, that would of course be helpful. But what does “used” mean? How often this class name is found in the source code or how many instances of this class were created at runtime.

  3. That was quite the jog to get through, and as always poorly designed with badly worded misleading questions.

    (ie: “no, never use it and hate it” vs “yes, use it and love it”. How “about use it AND hate it”?)

    That said, it IS an improvement over last the previous surveys (except in length)…

    That question about VOIP was certainly interesting. As long as they don’t mean skype or vonage.

    • “poorly designed with badly worded misleading questions.”
      Other examples?

      “How โ€œabout use it AND hate itโ€?”
      Well, I think that if such an option would be available many would vote. ๐Ÿ™‚ You know, just for pleasure to check it. ๐Ÿ™‚

      That said, it IS an improvement over last the previous surveys (except in length)โ€ฆ
      +1.
      But I understand them about the length… It was needed imho. We’ll see how often will have such trials.

      • Just because a feature/option exists, and it is used does not mean people like it – it may in fact imply a lack of options.

        They could just remove the “and love it” bit. After all, it implies an endorsement that may not exist.

        If you are going to deliberately sabotage the process, why even bother with the exercise? Just make up the numbers you prefer and pretend they are real.

        I don’t mind making an honest effort filling in a questionaire that long, but I really have to feel that my contribution is actually going to be meaningful – not just a warm body to point to for the sake of “authenticity” regardless of whether the survey accurately represents my opinion or not.

  4. After I spending 20 minutes at the survey (39%) the survey failed (can’t go to next or previous page, perhaps a internet connection problem?). So embarcadero must live without knowledge about my opinion. ๐Ÿ™‚

    For such a long survey a login is needed so that I can break and continue the survey when needed.

    • “For such a long survey a login is needed so that I can break and continue the survey when needed.”

      You can. Just refresh that page later. Do not close your tab. And btw I don’t know if they can live without your opinion. ๐Ÿ™‚
      (Reposted from .non-tech for the others).

  5. My latest t-shirt says:

    “I spent one hour of my free weekend on helping out a commercial company, and all I got was a lousy redirect to Embarcadero’s Delphi page.”

    Yeah, the whole text fits. No, I don’t work out.

  6. I’ll do it this coming weekend. Looks like it’ll be quite an adventure on my dialup connection.

    I hope they don’t have questions that you only can answer if you fully understand the technology and it’s associated jargon – that’s what happened last survey!

  7. There doesn’t seem to be a way to communicate that I WOULD use a feature if it worked properly. If I just say no, I never use it, that is going to give the impression that I’m not interested, which is not necessarily correct.

Leave a Reply

